It is not uncommon for drivers who are under the influence of alcohol to be charged with driving without insurance. There are other serious crimes, including driving under the influence of drugs, that can also warrant a DUI conviction. While the penalties associated with DUI crimes are often far more severe than those for driving without auto insurance, there are a few differences in the penalties for each type of offense.
The first-time offender who is caught operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated is subject to a penalty ranging from a warning ticket to an extensive suspension of their driver’s license. The second and third time you are arrested for driving without insurance in Illinois you will get a fine ranging from $501 to $2,500. You may also lose your driver’s license for up to five days and pay a hefty reinstatement fee to regain it.
The penalties for driving without auto insurance in Illinois are also much greater than those for driving intoxicated. The first-time offender will be subject to mandatory ignition interlock devices for their vehicle. The second-time offender will be required to complete a community service program that helps them overcome their alcohol addiction. The third-time offender will have their license suspended for at least three days and will face the loss of their driver’s license for at least three years.
While most drivers would prefer to take out auto insurance on their own vehicle, it is simply too risky for most drivers to do so. Most people who own vehicles will not be able to do so, as it takes a lot of paperwork and a long time to complete the application process. This means that many drivers will have to rely on their employers, who will usually give them a discounted rate for having insurance on their vehicle. Most drivers are unaware that many companies will offer their employees discounts for having their own auto coverage in addition to having employer insurance.
Drivers who are caught driving intoxicated without insurance face a variety of penalties. The first-time offender may face suspension of their driver’s license. The second-time offender will have his or her license suspended for at least a day and be required to attend a driver improvement course. If the third-time offender does not complete the court ordered DUI program, they may lose their driver’s license indefinitely and face other penalties.
A second-time offender who is found guilty of driving without insurance will have his or her driver’s license suspended for at least a month and a half. The third-time offender will face fines ranging from up to two thousand dollars to fifteen thousand dollars for the infraction. The driver will have a minimum of one year to serve the suspension and will lose their driver’s license for at least three years. In addition, if they are convicted of drunk driving, they will lose their license for the duration of the suspension. They may also be placed on probation.
Those charged with third-time offenses are often subjected to a harsher sentence and some states may place them on probation as well. In addition, they are often asked to perform community service. Depending on the state they live in, the third-time offender may be subject to additional penalties such as loss of their driver’s license or the suspension of their driver’s license, depending on the state where they reside.
The penalties for driving without auto insurance in Illinois include fines ranging from a minimum of two thousand dollars to fifteen thousand dollars for those who are convicted of the crime. Those who have their license suspended for at least a month and a half, but less than one year may lose their driver’s license permanently. Those who are found guilty of drunk driving may also face other penalties such as fines, suspension of their driver’s license, suspension of their auto insurance, and incarceration.